With decades of experience, Attorney Jay Jaffe is who you want on your side.
Los Angeles Underage DUI Lawyer
The Aggressive Legal Representation You Need
As with a person 21 years of age and older caught driving with alcohol in their system, it is unlawful for an individual under the legal drinking age to engage in such behavior. However, California has a "zero tolerance" DUI law that applies to underage drinkers, and the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) percentage is much lower for them than someone 21 and over. If you or your child has been charged with an underage DUI, serious penalties could be imposed for a conviction, which can place limitations on driving privileges and have a profound impact on your future.
I, Attorney Jay Jaffe, have over 40 years of legal experience. While at USC, I played on the baseball team and have a winning attitude. Additionally, at the 8th Annual Alumni Baseball Banquet, I received the Spirit of Troy Award, an indication of how dedicated I can be. When you hire me, I will leverage my legal acumen and personality characteristics to provide an effective defense in your case. I strongly believe in the presumption of innocence, and I know that a charge for underage DUI does not signify guilt. To that end, I will go to bat for you and fight tirelessly on your behalf, working toward a favorable outcome.
What Are California's Laws on Underage DUIs?
In California, there are two separate statutes concerning underage DUIs. The one that applies to a particular situation depends on the driver's BAC level.
California Vehicle Code 23136 states that it is unlawful for a person under 21 years of age to operate a motor vehicle with any traceable amount of alcohol in their system. This means that if the person had a BAC of .01% or more, they could be charged under this law.
If the individual had BAC of .05% or higher, they could be charged under California Vehicle Code 23140.
How Is BAC Level Determined?
When a person is pulled over on suspicion of DUI, the officer may subject them to a preliminary breath test. If the results indicate that the driver had above the legal limit of alcohol in their system, they may make an arrest.
Once at the police station, the driver may be subjected to a chemical test, which can measure BAC levels by analyzing a blood, breath, urine, or saliva sample.
Can the Chemical Test Be Refused?
In California, when a person is issued a driver's license, they give implied consent to be subject to a BAC chemical test after an arrest for suspected DUI. This means they have agreed to participate in the analysis even if they did not expressly state it. If a person refuses the chemical test, they face a driver's license suspension.
What Are the Penalties for an Underage DUI?
The punishments a person under 21 years of age could face for driving under the influence depend on the statute under which they were charged. If the driver had a BAC of .01 or higher, their driver's license could be suspended for 1 to 3 years.
The penalties increase for charges under California Vehicle Code 23140.
This is an infraction, and upon conviction, the driver could be subject to the following penalties:
- First-offense: $100 fine
- Second offense: $200 fine
- Third or subsequent offense: $300 fine
- 1-year driver's license suspension
Working Hard to Protect Your Driving Privileges
When you need focused and personalized legal representation in Los Angeles, I, Attorney Jay Jaffe, am ready to provide it. I will be committed to ensuring your rights are protected.
You are not only an attorney but a wonderful human being.
You've helped give us a wonderful gift - the gift of a second chance to create a new life.
You have made an extremely difficult situation less horrible.
You gave me the courage to face up to my addictions/problems.
Your excellent reputation is deserving.